Durham Catholic District School Board Welcomes New Trustees and Elects Chair and Vice-Chair for 2022-2023 School Year

Posted On Tuesday November 22, 2022

On November 21, 2022, at its Inaugural Board Meeting, the following Trustees elect were commissioned by Father Keith Callaghan as Catholic School Trustees and officially sworn into office through the completion of their Declaration of Oath, overseen by the Director of Education, Tracy Barill: 

For the Town of Ajax
Monique Forster and Marisa Hall 

For the Townships of Brock, Scugog and Uxbridge
Richard Damianopoulos

For the City of Oshawa
Kim Beatty and Morgan Ste. Marie 

For the City of Pickering
Jim McCafferty 

For the Town of Whitby
Robert De Souza and Janelle Emanuel 

Having confirmed that each member of the Board had made the declaration and taken the oath, Director Barill, declared the Board to be legally constituted and proceeded to open nominations for the position of Chair. 

Monique Forster, Trustee for the Town of Ajax was acclaimed to the position of Chair of the Board. 

"In the past thirty years, my desire to serve our Catholic community has only deepened. I welcome this opportunity in my role as Chair, to continue to work in the best interests of students, families, and staff; to ensure their voices are heard," said Chair Forster.

Morgan Ste. Marie, Trustee for the City of Oshawa was subsequently elected for the position of Vice-Chair. 

Vice-Chair Ste. Marie thanked fellow trustees for their service. “I look forward to working with the new and returning trustees in the years ahead and strengthen relationships with families, community groups, employee groups and local and provincial elected officials.” 

Tracy Barill, Director of Education extended words of welcome and congratulations on behalf of the Board’s Senior Administrative Team. 

“Trustees are stewards of Catholic Education, representing our Catholic learning communities. I congratulate all members of our new Board of Trustees!” said Tracy Barill, Director of Education. “I particularly welcome the opportunity to work alongside Chair Forster and Vice-Chair Ste. Marie in their new roles. Their leadership experience and knowledge of our Catholic school system will be invaluable as the Board makes decisions that support the directions outlined in the our new, Inspire 2026 Strategic Plan launching in January 2023.”

Click here to view video of Commissioning.